100 Posts – Let’s Celebrate!

erte1

Time to celebrate! This is my 100th post!

It has been an evolutionary process  to say the least.  It began three years ago in the summer of 2006. I have never had much luck in keeping a diary or writing in journals. I would write faithfully for about a month, then life would get busy and I would stop. Now that I think about it, all my resolves to exercise and eat healthy works the same way. I’m beginning to see a pattern here.

But I digress. I decided to try journaling in an online diary to see if I could maintain it longer than my previous attempts. I joined a free blog service called Diaryland. It was perfect for my purposes at that time. It was simple and easy to use and since I’m not technically proficient in internet processes it was great for the beginner blogger.

My first attempts were very self-conscious writings and very sporadic. Because of my obsession in gardening and the natural world the writings tended towards the out-of-doors and my garden. One of my original goals was to keep a record of my plants, when they were planted, when they bloomed, what worked and what didn’t. I didn’t limit myself to just gardening, but when there is an obsession involved, you just have to go with the flow.

As I gained confidence, the posts increased and I started to feel the limitations of the website I used. I wanted to post pictures and have something that looked a little more professional. A little more then a year ago, my Mom and I visited family in California. My number 1 niece, a professional writer, told me about her blogging site and encouraged me to do even more then I was. So I checked out WordPress and liked it well enough to begin my second incarnation in blogging with “Through the Looking Glass”.

I also bought my first digital camera at that time and once I learned to upload pictures into my posts, I began incorporating my photos. My Dad gave me my first camera, a Kodak Brownie on my 6th birthday and I slowly worked my way up to a 35mm Canon. Getting a digital camera reawakened my love (and frustrations) of capturing interesting shots of my world. Adding my photos to the posts created a new dimension to the blog.

An added plus to WordPress was being able to check out other people’s blogs by tag surfing. By entering gardening, nature, crafts, sewing, art or other subjects of interest I could see other posts on subjects I was interested in. This last September, while tag surfing, I stumbled on a blog that had a post title of Garden Bloggers Bloom Day and had a link to a website called Blotanical .

A new era in blogging (for me anyway) began. Blotanical was created for folks like me: Gardeners and those who write about their gardens. I had no idea there were so many out in the blogging world that loved their gardens as much as I do. This virtual community of gardeners from all over the world are a very supportive and encouraging group of people. It has given me the opportunity to find an audience for my own blog, as well as letting me take a peak at what other gardeners are doing in their own gardens. I can chat with others in England, Indiana and North Carolina and while the snow is blowing outside my own window, I can dream of warmer shores by visiting a garden in the Mediterranean.

So now, at 100 postings, what next? To tell you the truth, I’m shocked that I have been able to keep this blog going after 3 years, when I wasn’t sure I would keep it going after 3 months. I’m looking forward to the next step, the next incarnation. One area that I have hoped to pursue but am slow at getting started is the artistic side of my life. I’ll need to add that to my New Year’s resolutions for 2009.

Something to look forward to.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, gardening, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 100 Posts – Let’s Celebrate!

  1. Racquel says:

    Congratulations on your 100 posts milestone!

  2. Congrat’s on 100 posts! Jan

  3. Sylvia (England) says:

    100 posts to enjoy, thank you Jill

    Happy Christmas and a Happy Blogging New Year, Sylvia

  4. jeelago says:

    Congrats Jilly!!! Your blog has really bloomed and is such an inspiration since mine is currently languishing. I really must water it more often!

    On a side note, I’ve made a mini-foray into your world vis a vis some herbs that now grow on our balcony: basil, rosemary and oregano to start with, cilantro and chives probably next & hopefully can even do some veggies later on. Not the same as your lovely outdoor garden blossoms, but we’re going for practical here since we live on the 9th floor of a large building and fresh herbs are darned expensive! and, easy to grow hehe.

    Love you!

  5. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks all. And good for you, Jeela! Herbs are the perfect start for someone who likes to dabble in the kitchen like you. Tomatoes are also good choices for growing in pots. Perhaps you have Leena’s green thumb. I know I’m going to miss all you guys this Christmas; I hope that I’ll be able to do a little traveling next fall and see you in your native habitat. Love you too! Merry Christmas!

  6. Joy says:

    Happy 100th post Birthday Jill !
    I abandoned my written diary on my garden escapades .. and also didn’t keep details I should have on line .. so my garden is a bit of a jumble without that to keep me on the straight and narrow .. I think I may have to be better at accounting for my plant/garden missions ? haha
    All sorts of resolutions for 2009 are dancing in my head … and yes .. that diet and exercise thing ..YUCK!!! haha
    Merry Xmas /Happy NY girl : )

  7. Sue says:

    Hi Jill,
    I enjoyed reading about your blogging history. I just started in October, and just love it! I have been seeing friends and relatives for holiday gatherings, and it’s nice to be around people “in the flesh” but guess what is my favorite topic? I keep asking people if they know about blogging. Whether they do or not, they get to hear me carry on about how much fun I’ve had, and that I have met people from all over the world. I’ve explained the “memes” to them, if they’re still listening. LOL

    Congratulations on your 100th post! I enjoy your blog! There are people who either have 2 blogs, or else talk about more than one subject on the same blog. (Do you know Crafty Gardener?)

    Merry Christmas,
    Sue

  8. jellyfishbay says:

    Sue, I visit Crafty Gardener regularly as well as several other blotanists that are artistic. I’d rather just have one blog that represents all the facets of my life than try to have a different blog for each aspect. I’d have to have 9 or 10 blogs. It would just never work for me.
    Have a Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

