Why do I Garden?

Garden Bloggers at Blotanical were challenged to write in 160 characters “why do I garden?” Here is my answer:

I garden

    To learn,

    To discover,

    To experiment,

    To play in the dirt,

    To grow (not just the plants),

    And to create and live with the peace and beauty it gives me.

 p50303271

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, gardening, lists, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why do I Garden?

  1. AnnA says:

    That bleeding heart is beautiful as are all your photos.

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks Ann,
    This is one of my favorite photos from last spring. I’ve only had a digital camera for about a year, so I’m still learning.

  3. Ross says:

    I was going to ask what the flowers were, but Anna answered that for me. I agree about the beautiful photos – I liked the snow on the Pyracantha too.

  4. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks, I love taking pictures of flowers. They are much easier than trying to shoot a photo of a person, or butterflies or birds.

  5. elizabethm says:

    Lovely photos and I like your reasons for gardening too. many thanks for faving my blog!

  6. joco says:

    Hiya Jill,

    Just planted three D. spectabilis ‘Alba’ yesterday.
    Ice and snow, but the plants had arrived so late, I had no choice. Gave them a little ‘house’ of their own in the shape of a 5 liter plastic water bottle. Hope that is enough.

    Do yours grow in semi/deep shade? Do you have an image of where they are growing in your garden?

    Why did they give these lovely white angelic flowers the name ‘Pantaloons’?
    The wild ones are called Dutchman’s-breeches, so I suppose somebody thinks they all fumariaceae look like trews. I suppose it trips easier of the tongue than the Latin name: “Bicuculla cucullaria”, whatever that means 🙂

    Hope that mine will grow up to be as nice as yours in the photo. Here’s to dreaming!

  7. jellyfishbay says:

    I love my white bleeding hearts. They get a couple of hours of morning sun, then shade for the rest of the day. Besides the dutchman’s breeches, we have another related native woodland flower called squirrel corn – (Dicentra canadensis) which looks very similar to the dutchman’s breeches.

  8. Sue says:

    Hi Jill,
    I was avoiding these posts until I could write mine, but then couldn’t find the number of the word limit, so decided to do my own thing.

    Merry Christmas,
    Sue

  9. jellyfishbay says:

    Sue, I’m a big advocate of “doing your own thing”. It’s the rebel in me. Merry Christmas to you,too.

Leave a Reply

