First Snow Day part 2

I got out today and grabbed a few quick shots before going to work. Brrr! It was cold.

pb170525 The chicks feeling the weather.

pb170528 and out of birdseed.

pb170529 I forgot to plug in the birdbath. Perhaps a bird skating rink will do.

pb180535 pb180531 

The bird seed store had the most beautiful Hawthorne tree heavy with berries and birds.

pb180537 Look who was waiting for me when I got home with the seed?

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Snow Day part 2

  1. Joy says:

    Hi Jill .. I can’t help but laugh at the idea of plugging in the birdbath .. but I know they exist .. I think we just give up on that notion here in winter.
    Those berries look so pretty with the snow on them .. and wow ! I would love to see a cardinal here let alone get a picture of one .. you did good girl !!..
    P.S. … poor frozen, seedless, chicks ? haha

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    I never really thought about my heated birdbath before. It is funny now that I think about it. I grew up in a family that always fed the birds in the winter. Dad made a heated birdbath from an old dog dish and a low wattage light bulb. I’m just following in the family traditions.
    Re: the cardinals. Ontario is just across the river from Michigan. You aren’t that far away. No cardinals to brighten up the snow? It’s difficult to fathom. I’ll be sure to get some more photos for you.

  3. nancybond says:

    Jill, I’ll be including your first snowfall in the GB First Snowfall page this morning — I just saw your comment. 🙂 Thanks for taking part and letting me know…your photos are great!

Leave a Reply

