Autumn’s End

pa3104271 It is November in Michigan and 70 degrees (Fahrenheit) outside. Though there are a lot of bare, leafless trees, there is still a lot of color on them, even green. I don’t remember fall color lasting this long, ever. I know it will be gone soon (there’s talk of snow this weekend) so I thought I’d post the last of my autumn photos as my way of saying bye – ’til next year.  

My Childhood Country Home

 pa260386 pa260388  I grew up near this tiny, little, mucky lake. Luckily it is too swampy to have it spoiled with cottages or developments. I love this place. If I ever get my old 35mm photos scanned, I would love to show off the lake throughout the years – during all seasons and at all times of the day.

        pb020471 pb020474   

pa260399 This beautiful, bright red maple had a huge paper wasp nest that no one noticed until the leaves turned.

 

My Grownup City Home

pa310422 Burning Bush still looking lovely.

 pb010455 pb010457 pb060485 

The same backyard Maple tree that changed from red and yellow leaves to a pure butter yellow.

pb060489 pb060490 pb060486

It’s time to rake. Looks like I’ll miss the first city leaf pickup tomorrow. I’ll have to shoot for the 2nd round of pickups.

pb060496 pb060487 pb060499

This is the first year I’ve noticed my Korean Spice Viburnum and spirea looking nice. I’m sure they’ve colored in previous years, I just have been too busy to notice.

See you next spring.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autumn’s End

  1. Cindy says:

    Lots of great color although I’m sure the leaves are falling fast. Ours were later to start this year but once they started it didn’t take long.

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    True, we had a strong wind all day, the temperature has dropped considerably. I fully expect that most of the trees will be bare tomorrow.

  3. Diane says:

    Our fall color on the other side of Lake Michigan is also going on and on. Please do scan those old photos – we’d love to see them!

Leave a Reply

