Balancing Act

Besides working full time, I’ve been taking classes for the last 6 years, working towards a master’s degree. Now that the classes are done, I assumed that the rest of my life would just fall into place. It hasn’t quite worked out like I thought. Life is just as messy as before, maybe even messier.

I thought that once the homework stopped I would have time to pursue the things I loved. I would be able to get a new job at least closer to my field of study. I would be able to take art classes, spend more time in the garden, travel, get involved in theatre again.

Yet, in real life, I’m finding it difficult to just get through a work day. I don’t seem to have the energy to do anything else. I know I used to find the time to participate in those activities that I loved. Why is it so difficult now? Is it age? Is the work getting too exhausting? Perhaps I was in school too long and forgot how to find time for myself?

So how can I find a balance in my life? 

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, school and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Balancing Act

  1. Joy says:

    Hello there Jill .. Working so long towards your degree and then feeling so exhausted thinking your life should fall into a good place now .. I can’t help but wonder if you have had something health wise go wrong ..
    I went through a lot of changes in my life, not knowing why I felt so awful. Then I found out my thyroid was a mess (Hashimoto’s and then hypthyroid .. meds needed) .. then fibromyalgia was diagnosed.
    So now when I read about other women wondering why they are so tired etc .. I always suggest they have their thyroid checked and checked for having fibromyalgia possibly .. just some suggestions .. it might make a difference ?
    Joy : )

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    Thanks for the suggestion. I had assumed it was more mental than physical, but you are right, it’s time to get an exam – past time in fact.

  3. easygardener says:

    A health check isn’t a bad idea. On the other hand it might be that taking classes forced you to focus and perhaps ignore the natural tiredness involved in doing a full day of work and study.
    Once you have free time it’s harder to recapture that focus (especially as you get older). I hope everything sorts itself out 🙂

Leave a Reply

