A Fishy Theme

I can just imagine that those who visit my blog, take a look and think “What’s the deal with the fish theme?” I agree that it doesn’t really fit: I live in Michigan which does not border an ocean, the title is from the Alice in Wonderland sequel and most of the postings relate to gardening, nature and being outdoors.

Let me explain. When I began this incarnation of my blog I had just returned from a trip from Monterey, California. Though the main objective was the Jazz Festival, I strongly encouraged my companions the need for a visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I was totally enamored by the jellyfish exhibit. The creatures were mesmerizing, a living art form. They had a ghostly, alien look and I tried my best to take photos of them with a borrowed digital camera. I decided that my username would be in honor of the jellyfish and aquarium – jellyfish bay; and the main banner used a photo taken of the silver anchovies in the aquarium. I thought it gave a mirrored or looking glass effect and so fits with the title.

9-26-2007-monterey-22 my original header

Now regarding the title. Even though I started the blog as a gardening journal and it continues to be mostly garden related, I didn’t want to limit myself. I love classic children’s literature and have always been a fan of Alice in Wonderland. I felt that Through the Looking Glass reflected my interest in that part of my life and it invited other readers into my world on the other side of the glass. I felt that this particular blog title would also reflect my more introspective nature. In addition, I had a secret tie-in with the story. The first creatures that Alice interacts with are the talking flowers in the Red Queen’s garden.

So that’s it in a nut-shell. The mystery is solved.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, nature, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Fishy Theme

  1. jeela says:

    that was a great trip! we saw the exhibit again last month, but probably for the last time, as it is now closed

    http://www.mbayaq.org/efc/efc_se/se_jla.asp

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    That makes me sad……

  3. Cindy says:

    Hi! I found your blog on Blotanical. I love your header photo and hearing about your blog name and the reasoning behind it.

Leave a Reply

