September Garden Addendum

The weather has been warm and dry all week so I thought that I would document the garden one more time before October rolls around and the weather really becomes autumnal.     The Autumn Joy has darkened considerably in just a few days.

  Two of my fall favorites in the shade garden. They are the  light and delicate Toad Lily (Tricyrtis hirta ) and Japanese Anemone ( Anemone japonica ). Last year, I only got buds then the weather became too cold so they never did bloom.

  Another aster, this one more pink than my other purple ones. All the asters were buzzing with bees, to the point where I thought I might get stung each time I brushed by them.

  We’ve had some very cool nights and I thought that the morning glories were done, but they are still looking good.

   The Chrysanthemums really did well this year, even though I totally neglected them. To me, Mums are synominous with fall.

 The biggest surprise was my silver lace vine (Polygonum aubertii ). I originally planted it several years ago and it languished. The Japanese beetles would demolish it and it never bloomed. I had planted it at the bottom of a an oak stump ( a 7 foot tall stump ) so the soil was probably poor. There were a few years where I didn’t see the vine at all or just a sickly spindly little thing. I assumed it had died off. This morning I took a good look from my second story window to my backyard (actually planning my lawn mowing strategy) and saw a huge mound of white at the top of the stump in among the greenery. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing! Now I will need to transplant the clematis that I planted to replace the (supposedly) dead silver lace vine.

   I stopped off at my Mom’s house to do some work for her and had to take a picture of the Northern Sea Oats (Chasmanthium latifolium) that I planted about 4 years ago, as well as a couple of the turkeys that visit her birdfeeder. The number varies, but today I saw about 10.  I always get excited when I see them. They are very shy but I hope to get some closer shots sometime soon.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, nature, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

