The circle of life

I stopped by the Butterfly House at the local Nature Center yesterday. I found a few eggs and a couple of Spicebush Swallowtail caterpillars but on Labor Day weekend they had a party and released the butterflies they had, so the building was pretty empty of the adult insects. Luckily, I happened to visit a couple of months ago and I was able to see the whole life cycle of butterflies at one time. It was incredibly exciting and I took as many pictures as I could. Here are a few of the best.

One tiny Spicebush Swallowtail egg.

A Spicebush Swallowtail caterpillar. They look kinda freaky.

I also saw Monarch Butterfly caterpillars.

I was so excited to catch a Swallowtail who had just emerged from his chrysallis and was drying his wings.

The adult caterpillars sipped nectar and mated.

And the cycle begins again.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

