How I spent my summer vacation

Where has the summer gone? I feel as though I wasted a lot of time doing very little, including writing in my blog. I started out surfing the blog, seeing what others had to say and looking for inspiration. But, instead of being inspired, I became intimidated. There are so many good writers out there and wonderful artists that can express themselves so much better than myself. Every time I tried to write down a thought, I just couldn’t do it. I really hate myself when I am indecisive and timid.

Well now I am back and I plan on being more productive. Let’s get back on topic…

This has been one of the nicest summers so far. Not too hot, rain at least once a week makes for a happy garden and comfortable sleeping at night. I guess the sun bunnies and bathing beauties may not be too happy but all my gardening friends have been uncommonly cheerful.

I was on vacation from work all last week, but realized that I had no money to go anywhere so I planned a staycation. The first weekend thru Monday were spent getting stuff done like getting the car fixed, taking Mom’s cat to the vet, doing laundry, running errands, etc. During this time the weather was humid or rainy and not really comfortable for my plans. On Tuesday, the weather cleared and the rest of the week was beautiful, sunny, dry and in the mid to upper 70’s – perfect weather for hiking.

There are a lot of great hiking trails in this area, lots of small lakes and woods so I decided to explore. I’ve lived in this area all my life, but there is so much that I haven’t seen.

The first hike was Bishop’s Bog Preserve which I had never heard of until I saw it listed in a book called 50 Hikes in Michigan. Bishop’s Bog is a 152-acre “relict” bog, the largest is SW Michigan. From what I understand, this bog developed after the glaciers from the last ice age receded. It includes northern plant life that normally would not grow this far south.

It was a good long walk of about 4 1/2 miles on plastic decking that floats on top of the bog. The first half was pretty dry but it got increasingly wet until it was more like a marsh than a bog.  The floating docks had small holes (probably for water runoff) but every time I stepped on it, no matter how carefully, little geysers of water would shoot up and soak my shoes and pants. Pretty soon I was wet from my knees on down. It didn’t matter. It was a beautiful day and I had a great time.

tamarack trees and brush tamarack trees       

Some of the best shots, including a mystery flower which I haven’t been able to identify.

The next day I visited the West Lake Nature Preserve; more trails including a marsh trail. which brought up the question, what is the difference between a marsh, bog, fen, and swamp. It’s late, so I’ll have to continue my summer vacation adventures tomorrow.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, nature, photos, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I spent my summer vacation

  1. Sue says:

    You do live in a pretty area! I am curious to see if you included a pic of the walkway with holes that squirt water when stepped on in your part 2.

  2. jellyfishbay says:

    If you double click on each photo, you’ll get a bigger view, including a very good shot of the docking. Check out the one on the top row, 2nd from the right. It’s at an odd angle but shows the walkway with the holes clearly. Every time the water squirted I would start giggling. I suppose it might annoy another person, but I loved it.

Leave a Reply

