A Spiritual Moment

I am currently cat-sitting for my mother, visiting friends across the ocean. The cat had to go to the vet’s today for a health care visit. By the time we got back home it was past seven and the shadows outside were getting long.

I really love my Mom’s house. It’s kind of tucked away in a little country spot, surrounded by pine trees, with only 3 houses down a little dirt lane. I opened the back door to let in some fresh air and noticed a slight movement on the other side of the neighbor’s fence. I stepped out onto the patio to get a closer look.

It was a deer, quietly eating some corn. Soon another larger deer joined the smaller one. One of those little fox squirrels chittered at me then ran almost up to my foot to take a closer look. I guess he decided I was okay, so he ran off playing tag and climbing trees. A couple of rabbits slowly hopped by, a few yards away and stopped to nibble the grass that I had planned on cutting this weekend. Next visitor was a tiny hummingbird, who fearlessly perched on a nearby branch and decided to groom himself.

The two deer caught my eye again, they had both moved a little to the right to make room for a solitary turkey, also eyeing the corn. One of the bunnies hopped by this tableau, and a picture came to my mind of the Peaceable Kingdom paintings showing all animals living together in harmony.

I felt that I was on the verge of a spiritual moment, and I’m not a particularly religious person, when…the pizza guy arrived.

That is a spiritual moment in itself.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Spiritual Moment

  1. jeela says:

    I love this post, so magical and funny! Like a fairy tale except the hummingbird didnt land on your finger and join you for a song and the lil creatures didnt follow you home to help clean out your craft room while you are sleeping ;~j

  2. jill ongley says:

    I only wish I had a bunch of little critters to clean my house for me. They’re called children, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

