Wildflower Walk

    Well, I did go out to the Nature Center on Saturday, it was EarthDay after all, and I was anxious to get back out on the trail with my camera. There was a wildflower walk with a guide and though I usually prefer going out on my own, I thought a guided tour would introduce me to unfamiliar flowers or point out plants that I might miss. The guide really knew her stuff. I enjoyed myself very much.

I was there for about an hour and a half, then went home and decided to clean out my garden beds. That was a mistake. I had thought that I only needed to break off the dead stalks from last year’s flowers. I was dismayed to find the beds filled with grass. Grass keeps trying to take over the garden. It is worse than most weeds. So I spent an hour pulling grass (made more difficult because the spiderwort coming in looks like grass as well) and got 3/4 of one bed done. Quite an underachievement.  

I got up this morning with a stiff back and sore knees. Still, I’d rather be outside this time of year, then inside doing dishes or schoolwork.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

