A Lazy Afternoon

It was a beautiful, sunny day today. Since I had a split shift, I took advantage of the afternoon to run out to the Nature Center. My thinking was to avoid the weekend crowds and renew my membership to the hiking spree club, eat my lunch in the butterfly garden enjoying the birds and flowers and head on out.

Once I got there, I changed my mind. Even though I wasn’t dressed for hiking, I couldn’t resist. The volunteers working the front desk lured me with their talk of which flowers were in bloom and where to go on the trail to see them. That clinched it.

It was great and very relaxing. I just wish I had my camera with me.

Wildflowers seen:

Pink and white Spring Beauties –

violets –  

Dutchman’s Breeches –

Bloodroot –  

Marsh Marigold –

skunk cabbage –

windflower (anemone) –

I went back to work very mellowed (and kind of sweaty). I think I need to this sort of thing more often. I had originally planned on going out hiking on Saturday, but since they predict rain, I may have had the right idea by going today.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in lists, nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

