2008-03-04 Feed the Birds, Tuppence a Bag

Feed the Birds, Tuppence a Bag – I had 32 mourning doves at my feeder the other day. That’s a lot for one little feeder. Other than the doves, I’ve had less birds visiting despite the harsh winter.

I think that a hawk keeps visiting my feeder for his own feeding, though I have never seen one. I don’t live in the country or the suburbs; I have a house in an urban neighborhood, 3 minutes from the downtown area. Where is this guy coming from?

He seems to be eating very well. I’ve found feathers from the mourning dove (2 different times), junco, blue jay and cardinal. Mourning doves and blue jays are pretty big, so it’s probably one of the larger hawks. The little birds may have wised up and are staying away.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

