2008-01-10 Ringing the old year out

Ringing the old year out  – The new year is already more than a week old and I haven’t done any retrospectives or resolutions yet.

First, to ring out the old:

It’s actually been a very good year for me.  I continued my class work, getting good grades and completing my internship, working for a little summer stock theatre far enough away to really wish for air conditioning in my car, but close enough to be able to sleep in my own bed at night.

I found time to put in my volunteer work for the master gardeners, giving two programs to the Girl Scouts and one to the Master Gardener Association, plus the two gardens I worked on at the Library.

The family is all well and healthy and I was able to spend some time with my two grownup nieces this September when Mom and I went to the Monteray Jazz Festival. I got to hang out with them as adults which was a lot of fun plus niece #2’s husband (a really good guy), spent quality time with my Mom and heard some really good music. I’d like to go back to the festival again.

It was also family-time at Christmas this year. Niece #1 and 2 were here from the west coast with their others, as well as big brother D and L from Alaska. Along with younger sister and her family, the house was full of people and food. I finally got to know Niece #1’s fiance and his wicked sense of humor and the guys picked the perfect Christmas tree for decorating on Christmas Eve. Despite missing the older sibs and their spouses, it was one of the best Christmas’ that I can remember.

Healthwise, I’m feeling some aches and pains but I’m attributing it to age and the need to lose some pounds. My pets are beginning to have some real health issues, all related to old age. I just do my best to keep them comfortable and happy.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, lists, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

