2007-10-09 October News

October News – I’m only one month into my class and I’m already dragging my feet. The class is Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations and I am really struggling. I’m just not a numbers person and I can’t help thinking that if I was managing a nonprofit, I would have the organization’s accountant or board treasurer doing this sort of work. I’m having a great deal of difficulty with the terminology and basically feel stupid most of the time. It doesn’t help that the instructor is very old school. No power point or visuals, just going over the reading assigment. He even had us use blue books for the last test. I think the last time I used a blue book was in the 1970’s.

On a happier note, I decided that I could take 2 hours out of each weekend just for me. I joined the local nature center and hiking club and plan on enjoying the outdoors during the best time of the year. Next weekend they are having a fall colors hike. Something to look forward to.

My toad lily is blooming. Such an ugly name for a delicate looking plant. 

Tricyrtis formosana: Toad-lilies are rather bizarre, but rewarding plants for late season in the shady garden. It forms an attractive green mound and starfish-like flowers appear in late summer pale mauve with purple spotting. Since they are one of the last perennials to bloom, they give gardeners something to be excited about. Divide plants in early spring. Good in borders or containers.

The Japanese anemone is just about to bloom as well. Other things to see: bright yellow mums and purple asters demanding most of the attention and the sedum, Autumn Joy is no longer a lovely little pink but a dark wine color.

I love this time of year. Too bad school has to ruin things. With a lot of work and a little luck, I’ll be free again this time next year.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, old diary entries, school and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

