2007-09-16 Procrastination

Procrastination – I should have spent the day studying, but I wasn’t able to focus. It was too perfect outside to stay in reading. I was at Mom’s house, so instead of doing my homework, I did yardwork for her. She wants to improve the backyard area so she spent a good sum of money on a new backdoor entrance leading to a new deck. It’s now finished, so I’ve added a new birdfeeder and a really beautiful (and expensive) birdbath. A couple of weeks ago, I finished laying a brickpath up to the new deck. Today, I added the leftover soil from the brick path to a garden area and spread grass seed in the spots the builders disturbed. I also managed to dig up the pole of the old birdfeeder. Thank god the house was built on a sandpile.

Then, Big Sister called. I heard the answering machine, but couldn’t get to it in time. I went to call her back, then realized that of the 4 or 5 address books that Mom has laying around, none has Sister’s correct phone number in Tampa. I finally called Younger Sister and got the number from her. I had a nice talk with her then called back Big Sis and had a nice long talk with her. We always get along so much better long distance than close up. She is the oldest in the family and has always been bossy. We start butting heads because she always has to run the whole show.

She and her hubby lived with Mom for about 4 months after they had sold their home in Lathrup Village and before they moved down to Tampa. I don’t know how she managed to put up with her, but Mom has always been a diplomat and I think she enjoyed not having to cook. Sis is a wonderful cook, and I probably could manage put up with her if she cooked for me.

What’s happening in the garden? Not much at the moment. I did lose most of my dogwood tree Friday when we had a sudden strong wind blow up. I don’t know whether to just cut it down, or try to save what is left. I’ll probably just cut off the broken part and leave it until spring to see what happens.

The goldfinches have been decimating my coneflower seedheads and going through the thistle seed fast. Every day there are at least a couple of dozen of them fattening up for wintertime at the feeder. The males have been changing to their winter olive drab, so I am having trouble telling the male from female. I guess it’s time to clean out my regular feeder and buy some sunflower seeds for the rest of the  birds.

I had a couple of wrens this summer try to nest in it after I stopped feeding the birds for the summer, so it is full of twigs. They moved on after they decided that the backyard had too many human and dog creatures that threatened their babies. They are such shy little things.

So now it’s time to get some sleep, and I still haven’t gotten any homework done. I’ll have to try again tomorrow.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, nature, old diary entries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

