2007-08-26 Ridin’ the Storm

Ridin’ the Storm – I woke up today to a beautiful morning. It is sunny, bright and cool enough to see my breath when taking my dog out for her morning walk. This last week was mostly gray, rainy, hot and humid. I certainly didn’t mind the rain, but after a whole week of it, it’s nice to see the sun…and on my day off,too.

The worst day was Thursday evening. I was just coming home from the last day of my internship in Coldwater and as I got off the highway, I saw some very dark clouds along the west horizon. I had a couple of stops to make, but I thought I could still make it home before the storm hit. It really came in fast and I was still driving through my neighborhood towards home when it hit. The rain was blinding, coming down sideways because the wind was so strong. A large tree limb cracked and landed a few yards in front of me. I had just enough time to swerve out of the way and keep driving. I saw a power line flash and spark ahead of me, but luckily, it didn’t come down. I turned the corner onto my street, and as I did, I saw another bright flash and sparks flying directly to my left. Another power line hit. I drove quickly, weaving around other branches and limbs and pulled up into my driveway. My heart pounded. Scared and exhilarated at the same time, I grabbed my stuff and ran to the house. Even with an umbrella I was soaked. The storm was here and gone within a short 30 minutes from the time I first saw the clouds along the horizon. It was all just so sudden.

Later, the news said the winds were up to 70-100 miles an hour and three days later people still don’t have power. I was lucky, my power flickered a few times but that was it. I have a few small branches in my back yard but nothing big. I really think because I live at the western edge of the valley, the worst storms blow right over our little neighborhood. We very rarely have power outages and the tree limbs that occasionally come down are always from the older trees that already have dead limbs.

Have to mention that I went and saw Jeff Daniels perform last night. He really does have a good singing voice. I’ll have to check out some of his movies that I haven’t seen yet; with the exception of Dumb and Dumber…I will never see that one!

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, old diary entries, theatre and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

