2007-08-19 Techno-Babble

Techno-Babble -I got a nice note from azzweepay asking if I had any online photos of my garden. This is a good idea and I will add it to my list of things-to-do sometime this year. It’s also nice to know others are out there, though I’m surprised that anyone would be interested in my little jottings.

My best friend Tamara, currently living in the Tampa Bay area down in Florida has labeled me a techno-neanderthal living in the stone age. I am relatively digital-free. I don’t have cable TV and depend on the 6 network channels I can access to get by; I use a dial phone – not touch tone (it’s cheaper); I still use a 35mm camera and I only invested in a laptop computer after my first year in grad school. Trying to use my computer at work on weekends to write papers was for the birds.

My only concession to the 21st century is my DVD player which compensates for the lack of television channels, and my high speed wireless internet service. My sister did talk me into buying a cellphone because of all my long-distance driving this summer, but, to tell you the truth, I haven’t a clue how to work it.

Nature-notes: I’m having a lovely Sunday morning in my comfy bed, listening to the rain come down. The horrible hot, dry weather finally broke yesterday. It rained all night and is supposed to rain all day today and into tomorrow. The highs are only in the 60’s. I’m in heaven.

Of course, this does mean that I will have to start mowing the lawn again.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, nature, old diary entries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

