2007-07-03 Gooseneck Loosestrife

Gooseneck Loosestrife- I still feel as though I am in student mode – pushing, pushing, pushing. I feel as though I don’t have time to get things done. I feel as though I’ve got to rush through everything and I have this panicky feeling that I’m not getting it done fast enough. It doesn’t matter what it is, just everything. I don’t have to work tomorrow, so I’m hoping that I can relax and get this feeling out of my gut.

Flowertime – The sweet peas are going strong, as well as the phlox and daylilies. My purple coneflowers have begun blooming which surprises me because I always thought that they bloomed later. In the front yard, the gooseneck loosestrife are all blooming -curse them!

Lysimachia clethroides. Height:  30 – 36″  Space:  24 – 36″  Bloom Time:  July – August. Full Sun. An abundance of white flowers in summer that are curved like a goose’s neck, and they all seem to face in the same direction as if in a flock.
Handsome green foliage may turn red in the fall.Will spread by underground runners, so give it some room. Great filler.A vigorous plant that is best suited for a woodland area.

Whenever you read a plant description that says the plant is “vigorous”, it really means “invasive”. I had hoped that planting it in the dry shade of my front yard might slow down it’s growth but no such luck. It’s taking over and crowding out my more delicate woodland plantings. I can’t decide if I want to try to keep it under control, rip it all out and try something different, or stick it somewhere  where it doesn’t matter if they spread.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in biographical, gardening, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

