2007-05-25 The Gardening Obsession: Snow-in-Summer

The Gardening Obsession: Snow-in-Summer – I should be studying, but my gardens are changing every day and I want to try to catch the changes in writing.

The Dame’s Rocket is still showing off all over the yard, but it is beginning to look a little thin. My irises have begun blooming in deep purples and yellows. They are like day lillies, one bloom each day, then it is gone.

As much as I enjoy the iris, they don’t seem to fit in with the rest of the garden. They are these big, fat, frilly,overblown flowers. They are just too much. I think that japanese iris or slender flags would suit my garden much better; less pretentious.

My snow-in-summer (Cerastium tomentosum)is also blooming. Snow in summer is a low ground-hugging plant of grayish-silver leaves and small, fantastic bright, white star shaped flowers that bloom from late spring through early summer. My sister dug up her plant last year but it got too wet in the tub where it was waiting to be planted, so I replaced it with another. 

Its silver, mat-forming foliage makes it look great as a ground cover, in rock walls or between stepping stores. They are an easy to grow perennial, and require full sunlight, but can adapt to almost all well drained soils.

The snow-in-summer led to my silver and gold herbal garden late last summer. I cleared out a wild section along the picket fence and laid down pavers in a half of a wagon wheel shape, then alternated each section with gold leafed herbs and silver leafed herbs. So far it looks promising, we’ll see how it goes.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

