2007-05-11 April Showers Bring May Flowers

April Showers Bring May Flowers – When spring comes, it lets you know in no uncertain terms. My tiny urban backyard is a haze of white, pink, purple and blue. The bright yellow daffodils are gone and now the garden beds are full of forget-me-nots, star of bethlehem,lunaria, dame’s rocket, white bleeding heart, woodland hyacinth and phlox, with a scattering of violets here and there.

The lilies of the valley are just beginning to open and I even have a couple of Jack-in-the-pulpit.

I love the whimsical names some of the plants come with. Except for the wood hyacinth, all are self sown, I have no idea where they came from.

They have a tendency to escape the confines of their garden beds and run wild in the lawn. I just mow around them until they are done blooming, then mow them down to blend in with the grass.

I can’t go through all the plants today. Here are just a few:

Dame’s Rocket – I call them Spring Phlox though they are no relation. I think they have 4 flower petals while the phlox has 5. They grow in fields and roadsides in shades of white, pink, lavender and violet.(Hesperis matronalis)A native European, Dame’s Rocket has naturalized through most of the US. Has a sweet fragrance and a profusion of blooms. It keeps moving about in my yard. I never know where it will show up.

Forget-Me-Nots – One of the few true blue flowers in the garden. If you google the flower many different varieties turn up.(Cynoglossum Blue)

They will grow in the sun or shade and grow 6”-8” tall. They plants have attractive foliage and dainty clear blue flowers.

Although an annual, plants will often reseed themselves so watch out. When they are done blooming, I pull out the old plant to make room for my summer flowers, taking care to scatter the seed about for next year’s blooms.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

