2007-04-28 A Busy Weekend

A Busy Weekend – Time to hit the sack. I’ve got so much that needs to be done tomorrow.

Mostly, I’ve got to try to get donations for a program I’m presenting to the Girl Scouts in 3 weeks. I had originally specified that I would only accept a maximum of 30 girls, but 64 signed up. It seemed unfair to tell half of them to sod off, so I added a 2nd session, and now I am scrambling to get enough supplies.

The most difficult will be the 10 flats of flowers for a garden we will be planting plus enough for each girl to take home one plant. I also would like them all to take home a packet of seeds.

I want to present some different gardens that they can make: a terrarium (potting soil, activated charcoal, small plants, moss, dish); a grass basket (basket, potting soil, grass seed, zip lock bags); a garbage garden (plastic plate,pebbles, root vegetables – carrots, beets, turnips, radishes, plastic dinosaur); sweet potato vine (jar, toothpicks, sweet potato);salad sprouts (zip lock bags, 2 plates, paper towels, cress seed).

I also need to cut cardboard to make leaf presses (128 pieces for 64 girls), rubber bands and newspaper print. I may be able to get the cardboard cut for me but I haven’t heard yet if it’s a possibility.

I’ve got to get enough pizza boxes donated for everyone to make an art box and an easel for drawing on and clothespins to hold the drawings in place. I should also get a clothesline in order to hang the artwork to dry.

That’s a lot to get done – I hope I can get most done this weekend. I can’t forget my weekly trip to the bank, the long drive to catsit for my friend who is in England, and time at the Girl Scout office to sort through and pack library books.

I spent 2 hours today going through the books, creating an inventory and colorcoding the different subjects. This is going to take longer than I thought.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, old diary entries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

