Photo Favorites

Each month, one of my favorite blogs, Gardening Gone Wild offers a photo contest opportunity to those of us who love to take pictures of our gardens. The chosen themes are always challenging and I always end up learning more about photography with each entry. The theme for June is the most challenging yet. In the words of judge Joshua McCullough, it is “the BEST FRAME YOU HAVE EVER CREATED. Your favorite. The one that means the most to you, that conveys what skill you had to bring to bear at its creation and now as you ascertain what it expresses. Your BEST EVER!”

yikes.

My favorites are fleeting, they come and they go. And really, the best frame I’ve ever created? I’m not sure I’ve gotten that far, at least not yet.

Okay, so I started looking through all my photos. I take hundreds of photos. Even limiting them to gardens or plants is daunting.

I’ll have to rule out my most recent favorite, Cardinal’s Nest. It is strictly bird related, not garden related.

or the festive umbrella, taken at the garden center a few weeks ago.

Some of my favorite flower photos from last year include:

a morning-glory bud,

a climbing hydrangea vine in flower, looking rather alien,

or a frozen berry in winter.

How can I possibly decide? I could keep posting my favorite photos from now until next Tuesday, and still not be sure if they are THE BEST!

A few more insect related favorites include The Butterfly, taken at MSU’s Children’s Garden and The Bee in the Tall Grass Prairie at the local Nature Center:

My final decision is a photo I took last summer to show off my container plantings. I love the composition and the riot of colors. I only hope my pots look as good this year, as they did last year.

Still not sure…..

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in artful life, birds, container gardening, flowers, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photo Favorites

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one waffling! I also had several favorites I had to choose from, finally picked one and the very first comment on my post indicated that their favorite was a different shot. Eek!

    I can see why you had such a difficult decision, many of your photos are absolutely wonderful. I really like the one you chose but like my reader, my particular favorite is different. I like the one of the frozen berry best. However, the judge was asking for OUR favorites, so the opinions of our readers are not really germane. At least that is what I keep telling myself. . .

    Anyway, best of luck in the contest!

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I really like the berry as well, it’s just difficult to think of winter in June. I’m pretty sure it will be my Christmas card for this year.

Leave a Reply

