Following Up on Photo Contests

In January, I was notified by Midwest Living Magazine that I had either won or was up as a finalist for a photo contest. I wasn’t quite sure which it was and I posted the possibilities here. I finally figured it out when I went back to the website this evening and followed a somewhat convoluted trail to the finish. (It would be helpful if the website was a little more user-friendly.)

Apparently I had won an editor’s choice prize for the month of November in their year-long contest and was up for the grand prize award, voted on by the readers. The voting ended on February 19 and I am happy to say that I came in 3rd out of 12. Wow! That is way better than I expected and I’m happy at last know the final outcome.

Since I’m not sure whether I can post the photo here directly (gotta follow the rules) I thought I’d at least post the link. Congrats to those of you who liked this photo best and thought it was the winner from the 5 that I had entered. At this point, I still haven’t heard anything from the Meredith Corporation (the publishing company) about what I won from the monthly contest.

While I’m talking photo contests, Gardening Gone Wild has posted their March photo contest called Awakening. I ended up missing last month’s contest deadline by about a half an hour, so I thought I’d get a jump for the March competition. I really appreciate the input from the experts and know that I’ve become a better photographer from their comments.

So here is my Spring Awakening photo:

Pussy Willows in the Snow

This photo, taken a year ago last March, before most spring flowers have bloomed. Because the pussy willows bloom before any real spring color happens, I consider it a first sign of spring.

I’ve made it an annual tradition to welcome the season by heading down to the lake at my mother’s house and cutting a big bouquet of pussy willows.

March in Michigan is usually cold, gray and rainy. This particular day was no exception. As I was down in the swampy part of the lake in my wellies clipping branches, it begin spitting a slushy sort of rain/snow mix. This shot is one of my favorites with catkins wearing a cap of watery snow.

 

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in nature, photos, plants, Seasonal, spring, weather and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Following Up on Photo Contests

  1. I love pussy willows & wish & could grow them. Your photo really captures the feeling of the end of winter.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Luckily, they grow wild at the lakes edge. I’ve been going there for years to collect my annual bouquet. I often mix them with forsythia branches.

  2. Lisa Finerty says:

    Forsythia and pussy willows are a great combination! So the soil must be warm if you have forsythia now too!

    Congrats on your achievement and best of luck.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      The ground is frozen and will probably stay that way for another month. I totally cheat and cut the forsythia branches to force them to bloom ahead of time. Which begs another question, why do mail order companies (even those in a similar zone) send the plants I ordered at least 2 months early? Our last frost date is May 15, yet I just received a bill saying that the shipping date will be March 20. I am not good at keeping outdoor plants alive indoors for that long.

  3. That’s a beautiful photo! Congrats on the editor’s choice award on one of your other photos.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Thanks Sue. My little lake reminds me of one of your postings from last year. You took Heidi for a walk at this somewhat wild looking secluded lake. My lake is a lot like yours.

  4. Town Mouse says:

    Congratulations on winning November! That is an amazing picture with the fall color. But I do like the pussy willow as well, the lighting is great!

  5. Ah! Something we don’t see out here in central coastal Calfornia! A reminder of my Scottish homeland, though for sure….

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I’ve never been to Scotland, but I’ve imagined that it might be similar. Our part of Michigan is full of hills and little lakes, thanks to the glaciers of the last ice age.

Leave a Reply

