Garden Bloggers Bloom Day October 2009

 Normally, October is one of my favorite months of the year. Besides the trees putting on their party colors, the days are bright with  temperatures  usually in the 50 and 60 degrees (F); a very invigorating time of the year. This is a different sort of October, it just goes along with the rest of the odd weather we’ve had this year. It’s been cold with highs in the 40s so far this month; today I think the high was actually 40 degrees. Too cold! No wonder I feel behind on my gardening chores – this is November weather.

These may be the last blooming flowers of the year. My Impatiens and Morning Glories have shriveled from the cold nights and though I have a few tough perennials still hanging on, most are the last blooms of the year. Still, I admire their tenacity. So, with Carol of May Dreams Gardens acting as hostess, come see what is still blooming in my garden.

 

A visit to my Butterfly Garden at the local library

PA100446

PA100447

The Sedum, Autumn Joy is still my favorite fall flower, now a rich burgundy color.

PA100448

A few sneezeweed (Helenium) are still blooming.

PA100449

The Chocolate Joe-Pye Weed (Eupatorium rugosum) seems to be blooming about a month later than normal.

PA100450

The last of the Blanket Flower (Gaillardia)

PA100452

and asters

PA100455

A couple of coneflowers ( Echinacea purpurea) are maintaining their color among the seedheads

PA100458

I don’t remember the Butterfly Weed (Asclepias tuberosa) having such lovely red pods before.

PA100460 

PA100461

The only garden mum (bought as a seedling three years ago at the farmer’s market) that comes back year after year.

 

In my garden at home, I also have Autumn Joy and the asters still blooming despite the cold.

But in addition, I have

PA140582

the lovely Toad Lily(tricyrtis) with several blooms.

PA140583

I just can’t believe that I still have some phlox in bloom.

PA140584

One last coneflower in bloom. You can see that the goldfinches have been picking at the seeds

PA140585

my Silver Lace vine, still unaffected by the cold.

PA140586

I entirely forgot to pinch back my mum this summer so it’s about thigh high. To tell you the truth, I like the taller look and it didn’t bloom any earlier than usual so I may not pinch it back next summer, either.

PA140587

I really love the copper color of the mum. Or maybe its kind of burnt orange.

PA140591

Look what I found blooming under a mass of wild asters! Several Obedient plants (Physostegia virginiana). I totally forgot that they were there.

PA140592

Several still in bud. I hope they get a chance to bloom before getting frosted. Last year the bees were all over these flowers. I haven’t seen any bees in several days.

I see that it is no longer the 15th of the month. Sigh. Late again to the ball.

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in autumn, bloom day, butterflies, flowers, gardening, photos, weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Bloggers Bloom Day October 2009

  1. Sue says:

    Yours is my last blog of the evening, and I am left with your beautiful blooms fresh in my memory. Your photos are awesome!

  2. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Bloom Day October « Gardora.net

Leave a Reply

