Ornamental Grasses Photo Contest

I enjoyed entering a picture for Gardening Gone Wild’s photo contest so much last month, that I decided to enter again this month. The theme is ornamental grasses and I found it extremely difficult to decide on one picture. I finally decided to post a photo of my very favorite – Northern Sea Oats.

I first discovered them several years ago at the perennial gardens at Michigan State University. I heard the wind moving through a large clump of the grass, the way it rustled thru the seed heads and the movement of the grass dipping and swaying was mesmerizing.

Here is my entry for the contest: Be sure to click on the picture for a clearer view.

P8300661

About Jill-O

a girl who likes lakes, trees and critters; making an attempt at living the artistic life.
This entry was posted in gardening, photos, plants, seeds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ornamental Grasses Photo Contest

  1. lynnsgarden says:

    I LOVE this photo…good luck in the contest! Yes, autumn is a wonderful time isn’t it! Thanks for stopping by ;)
    Lynn

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I do believe that September and October are my favorite months of the year. Of course when it’s May I think that May is my favorite and when it’s December….My only regret is the list of things I had planned on doing this year that I didn’t get too.

  2. Susie says:

    That photo is just stunning! Definately one of my favorites. good luck!

  3. This is a great photo, and I love sea oats too. We have river oats, which have got to be a kissing cousin to the grasses you have pictured. I really love that purple blush on the seed heads.

    • jellyfishbay says:

      I just googled river oats and you are so right, they must be related if not another name for the same plant. So far, all the photos in the competition are so good, I don’t envy the judge.

  4. Sue says:

    That looks like a longer seed head than my quaking grass, but I forgot if it is the same thing as your sea oats. I’ll have to look it up. I normally dry much of mine, but didn’t get it done this year. I imagine I’ll have lots of babies in the spring.

    I love your photo!

    • jellyfishbay says:

      Sue, it’s always so nice when you can visit. I’m big with the googling and so I checked out the quaking grass. The seed heads are shorter and fatter, definitely a different grass.

  5. You’ve captured the delicate beauty of Sea Oats perfectly. I’ve cut off all the seedheads of mine before they could form because it spread too much for my taste & garden.

  6. Jean says:

    I love Sea Oats and this is a great photo!

  7. Gorgeous shot, good luck!!

  8. marmee says:

    i always love close~ups…i love seeing the details of your grass.
    happy september.

Leave a Reply

